Canada News Agency

President Donald Trump impeached for a second time

WASHINGTON, DC - U.S. President Donald Trump on Wednesday became the second U.S. president in history to be impeached.

Democrats were supported by ten Republicans who voted to impeach the president:

  1. Rep. Dan Newhouse of Washington
  2. Rep. John Katko of New York
  3. Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler of Washington
  4. Rep. Adam Kinzinger of Illinois
  5. Rep. Fred Upton of Michigan
  6. Rep. Liz Cheney of Wyoming
  7. Rep. Peter Meijer of Michigan
  8. Rep. Anthony Gonzalez of Ohio
  9. Rep. Tom Rice of South Carolina
  10. Rep. David Valadao of California

The final vote kin the House of Representatives was 232 to 197. It is now up to the Senate to hold a trial, however, Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell says the Senate is not set to resume until 19 January, which is one day before the inauguration of Joe Biden.

It may well be the trial will proceed after Mr Trump has left the White House, at which time the Senate will be controlled by the Democrats.

Senator McConnell has issued a note to colleagues saying he has not determined how he will vote as he wants to hear the legal arguments before making a decision.

The White House said Mr Trump would make a statement on the proceedings later in the night. Normally his pronouncements would come via Twitter, however as his account is now permanently disabled, he will need to make a presidential announcement through the White House.